top of page

Success at British Championships 2018

The Saturday of the British Championships saw OULRC field two coxless fours; the crew of Sooraj Mahesh, Jan Ole Ernst, Iain McGurgan and Tom Schwantje came second in the University Shield, while Henry Smith, Nick Ryan, Doug Chesterton and Arthur Arnould won the pennant for the U23 Lightweight category. On the Sunday OULRC raced an O8+. After a troublesome time-trial, losing their fin then having to borrow a racing shell for the semi-final, the crew made it to the start line of the D Final determined to show what they were capable of. The crew stormed out of the start, overhauling a strong crew from Queen's Belfast to take the win.


OULRC take on the Tideway

No rest for the squad as they've recently spent a training weekend familiarising themselves with the Tideway ahead of Fours' Head this weekend. OULRC are sending two 4-'s and a 4+ to compete over the 6,800m Championship course from Mortlake to Putney on Saturday 3rd November. The crews will be boating from St. Paul's School, crew no's 30, 34 & 264.

bottom of page